Five Lies That The Devil Tells In Church (Part 4)

screenshot-2016-10-17-10-12-29

Five Lies That The Devil Tells In Church (Part 4)

John 8:43-47

Why do ye not understand my speech? even because ye cannot hear my word. Ye are of your father the devil, and the lusts of your father ye will do. He was a murderer from the beginning, and abode not in the truth, because there is no truth in him. When he speaketh a lie, he speaketh of his own: for he is a liar, and the father of it. And because I tell you the truth, ye believe me not. Which of you convinceth me of sin? And if I say the truth, why do ye not believe me? He that is of God heareth God’s words: ye therefore hear them not, because ye are not of God.”

Just under 7,000 years ago, the first lie that a human uttered was in the land that God created in sheer perfection. Since that day that Adam and Even lied to God and believed the lies of the devil they have always had problems and strife. Why? Could it be that it is easier to listen to the devil that speaks in a way that makes us want to believe? No one knows but we are aware that he speaks a loud and clear message to all of those that will listen. Howbeit, the devil speaks the loudest in, believe it or now, the house of God. The devil’s voice seems to endlessly cascade off of the holy vestments and into our minds like a tennis ball off of a hard surface. Learning what to listen for will not only help you to avoid his traps but will sharpen your senses to his attack. Join us this week as we discuss The Fie Lies That The Devil Tells In Church. 

Lie # 4 “You Don’t Matter To God”

One of the worst things that you can do to anyone is say or do things to make them feel as if they are not important or that they do not matter. Satan is a master at this and he has had over 6,000 years of practice. How does he do this? What does he say and who does he target? We will discuss the lie that the devil tells people in church.

There are a few elements to this lie that we have to realize before we can establish that it is not true:

Element #1 (The Creator Never Disowns His Creation)

God loves humanity because He has made us and not we ourselves. I remember once I created a wooden trophy shelf in high school wood-shop. It took me a while to create it and I made it in such a way that it almost took on my personality. By that I mean it was clean, manicured and even well put together. Since I, the creator, created this creation it was very personal to me because everyone knew that was my handiwork. The bible says in Psalms 19:1 “The heavens declare the glory of God; and the firmament sheweth his handywork.” Creation is Gods handiwork and his fingerprint. So why would the creator not care for something or someone whom He has created?

Element #2 (People Mistake Righteousness For A Relationship)

This by far is the biggest reason why people fail to come to God or even see Him as a loving Father. Why? I believe that people, even Christians, mistake God’s desire for righteousness and holiness as a conditional relationship. How? Many people believe one or more of the following statements about having a relationship with God:

  • God won’t love me because I had or did ____________
  • God can’t love me because I don’t love myself.
  • I have heard that if you do this ___________, then God will never forgive you.
  • I have to get myself right before I come to God.
  • God won’t except me in my current condition.

Many people believe that because God is holy and we are flawed that He is sitting in Heaven waiting to finish us off once we mess up. Others believe they MUST live a life of constant sacrifice in order to make God happy. This is just as bad as the first statement. True God does have an impossibly high standard that we, as humans, can never reach but this is separate from His love. How do we know this? Well, when Adam and Eve messed up, according to this logic God would have destroyed them and started all over again. Of course He didn’t and The Creator allowed us to live in this sinful state. Why? Because God’s love and His righteousness are different. Just like a child messing up or disobeying their parents. The parent doesn’t cease to love the child because they messed up. There are some things that the child must obey but God’s love transcends His righteousness for humanity. He still hates the acts and the behaviors that we display but His love still stands and it will always remain. 

The devil wants humanity to believe that we are not important to God and that He is just in heaven waiting to destroy us. This is simply not true! What creator would destroy something that He literally poured his own blood into? The devil wants God to be destroyed and die but God even in His righteous nature still allows the devil to remain until the end. Why? I have no idea but could it be that God wants us to choose Him instead of the evil and selfish will of satan. God has given us choice whether we will choose Him or not choose Him. He didn’t make us robots. What are you doing with this choice? You and your life matter to God and you are important to Him. In our next devotional we will share the final lie that the devil tells in church. Join us again as we address real life issues with biblical answers on Worship With Willie.

Leave a Reply

