What Does The Bible Teach About Black Lives Matter? (Part 10)

blm

What Does The Bible Teach About Black Lives Matter? (Part 10)

I Corinthians 13:4-13

“Charity suffereth long, and is kind; charity envieth not; charity vaunteth not itself, is not puffed up, Doth not behave itself unseemly, seeketh not her own, is not easily provoked, thinketh no evil; Rejoiceth not in iniquity, but rejoiceth in the truth; Beareth all things, believeth all things, hopeth all things, endureth all things.
Charity never faileth: but whether there be prophecies, they shall fail; whether there be tongues, they shall cease; whether there be knowledge, it shall vanish away. For we know in part, and we prophesy in part. But when that which is perfect is come, then that which is in part shall be done away.
When I was a child, I spake as a child, I understood as a child, I thought as a child: but when I became a man, I put away childish things. For now we see through a glass, darkly; but then face to face: now I know in part; but then shall I know even as also I am known.
And now abideth faith, hope, charity, these three; but the greatest of these is charity.”

Disclaimer: In my research, I will share direct quotes from the website of the black lives matter movement and passages from the King James Version of The Bible. I make no apologies for my views and my Christian heritage and background. My intent is to give the facts about this institution and allow the readers to draw their own conclusions and inferences from there. Any opinions or statements aren’t intended to cause damage to this institution but to “as they indicate” raise public awareness.”

HOW DO I ADDRESS THE BLACK LIVES MATTER MOVEMENT WITH SMALL CHILDREN & TEENS? 

I will begin by saying that this is a very controversial issue that should be handled with finesse and grace. Next, I would focus on the actual facts, events and references. I find people get into trouble when they begin to offer their own personal opinions. When We present fact and tangible evidence logically it allows the hearer to draw and build their own inferences. Basically, you have made them make a decision without influencing them negatively in any way. So the question remains; How do I address this with my family and church?

I. Begin With Right & Wrong

I recently had a conversation with my son about this situation and had success addressing this situation without pointing fingers or resorting to the blame game. I asked him three questions and it made perfect sense to him.

1. If a person broke the law, should they be punished for their crime? 

His response was, “yes sir. Breaking the law is wrong no matter who you are.”

2. Is it right to break the law just because you don’t feel like following it?

His response was, “no sir. The law keeps us safe from criminals and keeps us all honest and keeps criminals at bay.”

3. Should we disobey or criticism the police because we think that they are seeking to hurt people on purpose? 

His response was, “Well daddy, I feel that the police are our friends and that they help to keep us safe. You were once a police officer daddy and I didn’t see you try to hurt anyone. You just wouldn’t do that so why would they?” 

I basically broke down the issue to its simplest form and focused on what the members of this movement did in response. Question 1 allowed me to establish right and wrong before I got into any other issue. Why? Because if one does not know the difference between right and wrong, they will justify their irrational behavior as just. Question 2 allowed me to establish control and culpability. This is basically showing that some people cannot control their emotions and have the deep desire to display criminal behavior and show no remorse for it. Question 3 dealt with people and their bias to show prejudice to others that are different. 

Isn’t it interesting that a child can see past differences and discern bad behavior from criminal behavior? Addressing this issue with children and teens, it is wise to focus on the criminal behavior first and the irrational responses before you go into the last issue. It is a tragedy that people were killed but there are diplomatic ways to deal with issues instead of destruction and drastic measures. In tomorrow’s devotionals I will talk more about addressing this with small children and teens. Join us again as we address real life issues with biblical answers on Worship With Willie.

Leave a Reply

