Are You Spiritually Bi-Polar? (Part 5)

Screen Shot 2016-07-25 at 07.45.27

Are You Spiritually Bi-Polar? (Part 5)

Romans 7:13-25

“Was then that which is good made death unto me? God forbid. But sin, that it might appear sin, working death in me by that which is good; that sin by the commandment might become exceeding sinful. For we know that the law is spiritual: but I am carnal, sold under sin. For that which I do I allow not: for what I would, that do I not; but what I hate, that do I. If then I do that which I would not, I consent unto the law that it is good. Now then it is no more I that do it, but sin that dwelleth in me. For I know that in me (that is, in my flesh,) dwelleth no good thing: for to will is present with me; but how to perform that which is good I find not. For the good that I would I do not: but the evil which I would not, that I do. Now if I do that I would not, it is no more I that do it, but sin that dwelleth in me.
I find then a law, that, when I would do good, evil is present with me. For I delight in the law of God after the inward man: But I see another law in my members, warring against the law of my mind, and bringing me into captivity to the law of sin which is in my members. O wretched man that I am! who shall deliver me from the body of this death? I thank God through Jesus Christ our Lord. So then with the mind I myself serve the law of God; but with the flesh the law of sin.”

Disclaimer:

I am not a medical doctor, nor am I a Licensed Social Worker with an advanced degree in Psychiatry. This devotional is NOT intended to provide a medical diagnosis or a clinical evaluation. This devotional is a private analysis from a spiritual point of view. In now way shape form or fashion am I seeking to evaluate, diagnose, predict psychiatric emergencies or suggest that one discontinues prescribed medication. This devotional is a spiritual analysis and intended to be consumed in a spiritual method.

This week we will cover this topic in a spiritual eye and hopefully give you tools to over come Spiritual Bi-Polarity.

V. Treating Bi-Polarity

Individuals that have bi-polarity are diagnosed clinically and prescribed a regiment of medication. This medication has basically three purposes which help chemically help the individual achieve positive balance in their life. Without this medication, the individual would be and remain hopelessly lost in a fog of doubt, depression, debilitating emotional anguish and consider doing harm to themselves. Today we will briefly discuss the effects of the medication prescribed. 

  1. Mood Stabilizers – The largest issue that individuals with bi-polarity struggle with are the unstable rollercoaster emotional highs and lows. Their drastic mood swings or changes can happen very rapidly and can be well beyond that of what most would call normal. Their highs can be cosmic while their lows can be well below the sea level even touching the ocean floor. Mood stabilizers help balance their mood so that their mood can ebb and flow more naturally and not go out of control up or down. Spiritually, our mood stabilizers are our daily meds which consist of:
    1. Praise – will keep our mood stabilized on God even when we feel like going over the top or going below the bottom. Praise keeps us in check with the things that are important. Jesus Christ and Him crucified and reaching others for His name. 
    2. Prayer – will keep us from violently and rapidly changing our moods even when situations merit this change. Spending time with Jesus will force us to bring our uncertainties and emotions to Him before they overwhelm us. 
  2. Antipsychotics – The next issue that individuals with bi-polarity struggle with are the dopamine receptors being blocked so that extreme behavior isn’t chemically rewarded thus causing habitual behavior. Spiritually, when we display extreme behavior and potentially “get away with this behavior” this creates a sense of excitement which dumps dopamine into our systems. This “first high” is very intense and all other behaviors are spent in search of the first high. This is why many people are terribly addicted and in bondage to their besetting sins. This drug makes it so that they aren’t rewarded with the feel good receptor chemical dopamine as a reward for doing bad. These spiritual antipsychotics are part of our daily meds which consist of:
    1. Fasting – will keep the flesh from telling you that it needs a reward or substance. By the way, you can fast more than just food. Anything that your flesh craves more than God, can be fasted. 
  3. Antidepressants – The final issues, that we will discuss today, that plagues individuals with bi-polarity suffering from extreme depression. Modern medicine says that individuals with bi-polarity are more sensitive to depression. Some scientists say that because the individual cannot sustain their cosmic emotion and remain positive 24/7 they feel bad because they know that they should be happy. Knowing that one should be happy and not having the ability brings depression and hopelessness. Spiritually, when we try and fail OR when we refuse to try because we know that we will fail can bring people into a depressive state. When one tries to defeat a besetting sin in their own power, they quickly become overwhelmed with a sense of depression, when they realize that they have again failed. Such as if one tries to quit smoking multiple times and tries on last time but cannot get the victory over the side effects. This depression makes them want to give up from trying and just settle for death. In the spiritual realm, we will try to be a perfect little Christian and when we cannot live up to that expectation or live up to another’s expectation we will become hopeless and depressive. This condition has to be reversed by taking antidepressants. These spiritual antidepressants are part of our daily meds which consist of:
    1. Chowing On God’s Promises – will allow the person from looking upon their situation which seems bleak to them. Thinking on God’s Words and Promises will help them see the sky instead of the floor beneath their feet.
    2. Chatting With Others About The Goodness Of God – will allow the depressive person to be challenged and sharpened by the friend that has the goodness of God in his/her mouth. 

Depression is a serious medical condition in which people have extreme difficulty escaping. A vast number of these individual seek suicide as a means of ending the pain and the dreariness of life. They simply want the pain to stop so that they can be as they were before or have some sense of normality. In our lives, all we desire is to have is a normal existence but sin, pride and selfishness has had it’s way with us all. When we yield to sin, we open the door more and more unto the unwanted guest Mr. Depression. Once Mr. Depression enters, he makes his abode and doesn’t leave until he has been forced out! The only way, spiritually, to defeat Mr. Depression is to NOT allow him access in the first place. Mr. Depression cannot walk through the doors of grace and faith, but he can enter when doubt and uncertainty keeps your door from closing securely. This week, allow yourselves to see God as our Great Physician and allow Him access into your heart to fix the pains and hurts of the past. Only He can make a broken heart whole again. Join us again next week as we dive into our next series: A Walk With Mr. Depression! Join us again as address real life issues with biblical answers on Worship With Willie.

Leave a Reply

