Are You Spiritually Bi-Polar? (Part 4)

Screen Shot 2016-07-25 at 07.45.27

Are You Spiritually Bi-Polar? (Part 4)

Romans 7:13-25

“Was then that which is good made death unto me? God forbid. But sin, that it might appear sin, working death in me by that which is good; that sin by the commandment might become exceeding sinful. For we know that the law is spiritual: but I am carnal, sold under sin. For that which I do I allow not: for what I would, that do I not; but what I hate, that do I. If then I do that which I would not, I consent unto the law that it is good. Now then it is no more I that do it, but sin that dwelleth in me. For I know that in me (that is, in my flesh,) dwelleth no good thing: for to will is present with me; but how to perform that which is good I find not. For the good that I would I do not: but the evil which I would not, that I do. Now if I do that I would not, it is no more I that do it, but sin that dwelleth in me.
I find then a law, that, when I would do good, evil is present with me. For I delight in the law of God after the inward man: But I see another law in my members, warring against the law of my mind, and bringing me into captivity to the law of sin which is in my members. O wretched man that I am! who shall deliver me from the body of this death? I thank God through Jesus Christ our Lord. So then with the mind I myself serve the law of God; but with the flesh the law of sin.”

Disclaimer:

I am not a medical doctor, nor am I a Licensed Social Worker with an advanced degree in Psychiatry. This devotional is NOT intended to provide a medical diagnosis or a clinical evaluation. This devotional is a private analysis from a spiritual point of view. In now way shape form or fashion am I seeking to evaluate, diagnose, predict psychiatric emergencies or suggest that one discontinues prescribed medication. This devotional is a spiritual analysis and intended to be consumed in a spiritual method.

This week we will cover this topic in a spiritual eye and hopefully give you tools to over come Spiritual Bi-Polarity.

IV. DIAGNOSING BI-POLARITY

Individuals that have bi-polarity and have been diagnosed with this disorder will have undergone a cycle of testing and evaluations. From my understanding, this evaluation begins a with a questionnaire that focuses on emotional health and mental resilience. Then it moves into physical responses, this is basically how your body responds to emotional and mental anguish. When a diagnosis of bi-polarity is given to an individual they have shown symptoms and signs that prove harmful to themselves and possibly others. 

This list is an initial evaluation tool that allows the evaluator to discover if there are conditions that could cause issues in the individual. This same list could show a Christian that they have a spiritual issue as well. 

Here is the list:

Have you had episodes of clinical depression involving a period of at least two weeks where you were signi cantly depressed and unable to work or only able to work with difficulty – and had at least 4 of the following:

  • Loss of interest and pleasure in most things

When one losses interest in things that were once interesting, either something has filled their attention OR they have no desire to continue with life. Spiritually, when one renounces the things of God, they have filled their lives up with worldliness and they will not be long for this world. Sin unto death is imminent.

  • Appetite or weight change

When one changes their eating habits, there is usually a dramatic issue that causes them to stop eating or to over eat. I have found that those that over eat do so because they are seeking to self-medicate because they are filling this void with food. Sometimes people will get hurt in life and seek other things to give comfort. Some goto reading biographies of famous people while others seek comfort from the horoscope and fortune tellers. This is where some people will spiritually over eat. 

  • Sleep disturbance

People will not get a good night’s sleep and cannot relax even when they have seemingly no immediate stress. The only thing that interrupts sleep is a heart full of worry and doubt. 

  • Physical slowing or agitation

When one fails to eat and has irregular sleep habits, they will display spouts of slowing and fatigue. Spiritually, when you fail to feed and rest in Jesus, you will be fatigued and uptight which equates to being irritated and faithless. 

  • Feeling hopeless and helpless

When your faith is weak and lethargic, you will NOT want to attend church, read the bible and even pray. Your faith will die just as the bible indicates in James 2:26
“For as the body without the spirit is dead, so faith without works is dead also.” While others are trusting Jesus by faith and getting their prayers answered you will remain in a state of frustration and hopelessness because it will seem as if there is no use of trying. 

  • Poor concentration

When you have nothing to hope in or no faith to support your life and spirit man, you will not enjoy Godly things nor the people of God. Have you ever noticed a person that gets out of church for a while, has no desire to endure the things or the people of God? They have NO patience or desire to concentrate on the things of God. 

  • Suicidal thoughts

When a Christian leaves the protective Will of God, they will seek to live a life of worldly pleasure as if they did prior to salvation. They will find out that the Spirit inside them will NOT allow them to enjoy this lifestyle. They feel as if they can’t go back to God and they definitely can’t enjoy their old life as they used to. They will seek to regain that thrill as before and live more and more dangerous and recklessly in search in that feeling. This lifestyle will eventually take them down a road self destruction which will prematurely lead them to death or make them seek to end their life.

Today, there are issues that come up which could be used as a symptom of diagnosing spiritual bi-polarity. These things can be subtile and overlooked; but taking the time to peel back the onion will only help you to see the things that will cause issues. In my own personal life, I have found that my spiritual bi-polarity has been triggered or caused by three things: 

  1. My besetting sin overwhelming my desire to live for God
  2. My faith taken hostage by my own selfish desires
  3. My spirit man being oppressed by satanic forces that I have let into the camp 

When we are transparent, we will let God see what’s going on in our lives and humility gives his access to our hearts and minds to repair us from the inside out. Today, look inside of yourselves and ask God to help you see the issues in your life. Today is the day of change, only you can allow God to change if you give Him access. In tomorrow’s devotional we will come this devotional with how to treat this disorder. Join us again as we address real life issues with biblical answers on Worship With Willie. 

Leave a Reply

