Are You Spiritually Bi-Polar? (Part 3)

Screen Shot 2016-07-25 at 07.45.27

Are You Spiritually Bi-Polar? (Part 3)

Romans 7:13-25

“Was then that which is good made death unto me? God forbid. But sin, that it might appear sin, working death in me by that which is good; that sin by the commandment might become exceeding sinful. For we know that the law is spiritual: but I am carnal, sold under sin. For that which I do I allow not: for what I would, that do I not; but what I hate, that do I. If then I do that which I would not, I consent unto the law that it is good. Now then it is no more I that do it, but sin that dwelleth in me. For I know that in me (that is, in my flesh,) dwelleth no good thing: for to will is present with me; but how to perform that which is good I find not. For the good that I would I do not: but the evil which I would not, that I do. Now if I do that I would not, it is no more I that do it, but sin that dwelleth in me.
I find then a law, that, when I would do good, evil is present with me. For I delight in the law of God after the inward man: But I see another law in my members, warring against the law of my mind, and bringing me into captivity to the law of sin which is in my members. O wretched man that I am! who shall deliver me from the body of this death? I thank God through Jesus Christ our Lord. So then with the mind I myself serve the law of God; but with the flesh the law of sin.”

Disclaimer:

I am not a medical doctor, nor an I a Licensed Social Worker with an advanced degree in Psychiatry. This devotional is NOT intended to provide a medical diagnosis or a clinical evaluation. This devotional is a private analysis from a spiritual point of view. In now way shape form or fashion am I seeking to evaluate, diagnose, predict psychiatric emergencies or suggest that one discontinues prescribed medication. This devotional is a spiritual analysis and intended to be consumed in a spiritual method.

This week we will cover this topic in a spiritual eye and hopefully give you tools to over come Spiritual Bi-Polarity.

III. LIVING WITH BI-POLARITY

In individuals that live with bi-polartity there are a few things that these people battle everyday. Some can be misconceptions but most are real truths. 

  • Individuals cause their disorder. Bipolar disorder is caused by a complex interplay of genetic, biological and environmental factors. Some people are more susceptible to spiritual attacks (aka, certain sins, than others are). This has a lot to do with their make-up and their up bringing. Possibly their likes and dislikes. 
  • You can will yourself out of mood swings. Left untreated, bipolar disorder can wreak havoc on a person’s life. It requires both medical treatment and psychotherapy. When a person is in a cycle of befitting sins and stubborn habits, they lack the ability to bring themselves out. They require a combination of discipleship and daily spiritual treatment (bible reading & meditation).
  • You’ll never be normal. “Many patients in the beginning feel like they won’t be able to accomplish their goals, that bipolar will prevent them from getting married or getting the job of their dreams,” Reilly-Harrington said. She adds that though your life might require certain changes, you can pursue your dreams. For instance, her student patients might take fewer classes every semester and take longer to graduate, but they still achieve a college degree. The devil wants you to believe that you will never amount to anything in God’s service because you are stuck in a besetting sin rut. That is NOT true. Things will be drastically different for you and life will be very challenging for you but if you allow God to show you His path, then you will endure and make it to the end. Don’t look at another person’s life as guideline for yours!Use the bible and God’s Will as this guide for your life. 
  • Bipolar is easy to diagnose. “It’s often very difficult to diagnose bipolar disorder based on an initial visit, even a prolonged one,” said Elizabeth Brondolo, Ph.D, a clinical psychologist specializing in bipolar disorder and professor at St. John’s University in New York. This typically occurs because our self-awareness changes with mood. All too often people, that don’t struggle in your besetting sin area, will say “Why don’t you just stop doing this and trust God for healing”. My answer to them is like this: “Have you ever lived in place and then moved to another place close by? Well, if you have or if you can relate then you know that when people drive by that old house those memories pop back into their minds. They will even default back to the old route back “home” because it has been apart of them for so long.” See this is why people cannot stop a besetting sin without supernatural help. It would be very easy if our minds didn’t retain evil or abusive habit memories. Because our minds recall these memories, we don’t battle with physical issues we battle with mental and spiritual issues. 
  • Medical treatment is worse than the disorder. “It’s often very difficult to diagnose bipolar disorder based on an initial visit, even a prolonged one,” said Elizabeth Brondolo, Ph.D, a clinical psychologist specializing in bipolar disorder and professor at St. John’s University in New York. This typically occurs because our self-awareness changes with mood. In my experience of dealing with individual with bi-polar disorder, I have noticed that the medication that they have to take often brings unwanted side effects. They indicate that it makes them change behaviorally different from what they are accustomed. It makes their tastes, diet, outlook and thinking change. It’s almost like it makes them a very different person altogether. Likewise, our spiritual medication, which is the word of God, can make us change. When we take our spiritual medication regularly and consistently, we will begin to notice that our tastes, diet outlook and thinking changes as well. This medication will transform us from the inside out. It will not seem right at first but when we begin to trust in That power we will morph into a God fearing person. 

Living with Bi-Polarity isn’t a death sentence nor is it a way of life that is utterly difficult or hard to follow. As we learn to yield to the power of God and His indwelling work of the Holy Ghost we will notice things that were obstacles and hinderances fade away into nothingness. Today as you walk with God, know that having a besetting sin doesn’t mean that your life can’t be used of God like others. It simply means that God has trusted you enough to help others, through your first hand knowledge. This is your lot in life. Embrace it, go forward and be used of God to reach and help others. In tomorrow’s devotional we will talk about how one is diagnosed and advanced symptoms. Join us again as we address real life issues with biblical answers on Worship With Willie.

Leave a Reply

