Words Have Power!!! (2nd Word)

Words Have Power!!! (2nd Word)

Proverbs 30:5

“Every word of God is pure: he is a shield unto them that put their trust in him.”

We are often told, when we are young, that “Sticks and stones my break my bones but words NEVER hurt me.” If you’re like me, and every other human, words do hurt but worse yet, they remain in the minds of those to whom they have been spoken. Many people have been helped and hurt by the words that we have used. How are your words used? Do you speak in a rough way to others and use tough words? Words DO matter! Join us this week as we share 5 important words.

2nd Word                        PRAY

Pray-Acronym

PRAY

P – Praise

When we stop and give God praise or honor for Him intervening on our behalf, He delights in praise. The bible tells us this: Psalms 40:3 “And he hath put a new song in my mouth,
even praise unto our God: many shall see it, and fear, and shall trust in the Lord.” Praise does a few things as we can see in our text. 

  • Praise forces us to use new speech – We begin to talk and think differently when we adopt the attitude of praise. Has your speech changed?
  • Praise forces us to utilize our voice to honor God – When we praise, we begin to use our voice to honor God instead of saying things that dishonors him. Lies and swearing.
  • Praise forces others to deal with God’s power – When we give praise to God, that brief moment will make others accountable to Him. This forces them to except that a real God does real miracles in real people today. He isn’t a fictional character. 
  • Praise freezes others in fear – When we stop and honor God for things that He has done to protect us this confounds those that believe not. Science cannot explain how a man that should have mathematically & scientifically died is alive and healthy. This makes others fear a real God and consider their lives before an eternal & living God.
  • Praise frees the bound from their chains of oppression – When a child of God is bound in the shackles of sin and oppression, praise is the key that releases them. Nothing opens the heart of the wayward child of God like heartfelt praise. Ask Paul & Silas!

Praise is the first part of prayer and as Jesus give us an example, through The Lord’s prayer, we should always praise God when we come before Him in prayer. 

Matthew 6:9-10

After this manner therefore pray ye: Our Father which art in heaven, Hallowed be thy name. Thy kingdom come. Thy will be done in earth, as it is in heaven.”

R – Repent

Repentance is a language every Christian should adopt in their prayer life! Right after I praise God, I ask Him to forgive me for my sins. This is what I ask forgiveness:

  • Sins committed on purpose – If I sin because I really want to sin and didn’t care about the consequences. 
  • Sins committed in temptation – When I have spent many hours fighting then and fail. I spend most of my time asking forgiveness in this area. 
  • Sins committed by accident or unknowingly – This is if I offend someone by something that I have done and wasn’t aware until I was made aware.
  • Sins committed for which I have been forgiven but I refuse to forgive myself – Often, I will fall into my besetting sin and beat myself up. I will sometimes try to punish myself in an attempt to make God happy that I am punishing myself. 

Trying to force God to except our acts of punishment is basically saying that Jesus’ death and punishment isn’t enough. Friend, you don’t have to punish yourself to show God that you’re serious. That’s why we have the avenue of repentance. The bible tells us that our works don’t matter! It’s all about Jesus’ work!

Titus 3:5

“Not by works of righteousness which we have done, but according to his mercy he saved us, by the washing of regeneration, and renewing of the Holy Ghost;”

A – ASK

This is the point at which I ask for needs for others and lastly myself. Without going into a very long paragraph about what I feel this says, I will share a few verses that can speak louder than I can on this subject. 

John 14:13 

And whatsoever ye shall ask in my name, that will I do, that the Father may be glorified in the Son.”

John 14:14 

If ye shall ask any thing in my name, I will do it.”

John 15:16

Ye have not chosen me, but I have chosen you, and ordained you, that ye should go and bring forth fruit, and that your fruit should remain: that whatsoever ye shall ask of the Father in my name, he may give it you.”

We must ask according to God’s Will and Praise God He will do it! Are you praying selfishly for yourselves? God answers prayers that can bless, touch or encourage others. Selfish prayers are usually left in your ceiling until you include others. 

Y – Yield

This is the hardest part of praying. Yielding literally means “To give up , as to superior power or authority, to surrender.” So when we pray and ask God for a request, we should stop our attempts to help Him answer it in our own power. So, if we ask God to help us with a financial need, but we go out and play the lottery in an attempt to help Him answer the need then this is foolish. God made the known and the undiscovered universe in 6 days. Do you actually think that He needs help solving our little issues? Yielding requires a few things:

  • Keeping busy in His service while He works on our need. 
    • When I was in the military playing war games and had my team captured, we knew that our parent unit would come after us. Because we yielded to the will of the parent unit, which was the more superior force, they would not allow us to be overtaken or destroyed. Had we separated from them, we would be on our own and vulnerable to destruction. 
    • In our lives, yielding is not blind faith, it is complete and absolute trust in God delivering your needs in His time. However, while He is working on the need, I will continue to work and live for Him so that He is pleased. When I submit to Him He will not leave me alone. 
  • Keeping a good attitude when God doesn’t deliver in our time
    • Time means nothing to God like it does to us. However, God will deliver according to His will to receive glory for His name. I have personally found that God doesn’t deliver when I want but He delivers right on time!
  • Keep back the urge to find the answer
    • Too often many of us will try to make sense of God’s ways and figure out what  He is trying to do in our life or how He will answer our requests. At the end of this non-sense we find ourselves stressed out, frustrated and hopeless. Need I remind you that when humans try to be as God, we get ourselves into trouble. Read Genesis 3!

As we follow the Lord in prayer, we should stop and recall these simple words. Praising God for being good to us in the past and in the present. Repent for the times where we have failed Him and allow ourselves to be forgiven. God doesn’t hold grudges and neither should we! Asking for needs according to His will is both biblical and logical. We learn that all of these plus a yielded mind and body is what we can offer God as we ask for things from Him. This isn’t bible, but if we ask God for a request and never present anything to Him in return, How long will it be until He sees us as a useless investment? You decide for yourself; I know that I have resolved to serve Him with a yielded life. In tomorrow’s devotional we will reflect back to the family with another word. Join us again as we address real life issues with biblical answers on Worship With Willie. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

