Overcoming Objections (Part 1)

overcoming_objections

Overcoming Objections (Part 1)

Romans 12:18

“If it be possible, as much as lieth in you, live peaceably with all men.”

When dealing with those that you have decided to witness to, about the Lord, handling objections will not only exude confidence but will give them answers to questions that may have held them back from salvation in Christ. The purpose of this devotional is not to make you an expert in dealing with questions, objections and special situations but to allow you to “and be ready always to give an answer to every man that asketh you a reason of the hope that is in you with meekness and fear:” I Peter 3:15b KJV.

There are five things to remember when dealing with objections. These five things will pretty much sum up most of the objections that you will encounter in witnessing. 

  1. People question what they don’t know
  2. People fear what they don’t understand
  3. People run from things that frighten them 
  4. People perceive things differently than others (No two people are alike)
  5. People fail to see value in things that don’t captivate them

When dealing with these objections don’t focus so much on the manner in which the person has presented the objection, look more into the question or the objection that they are inquiring. 

I. People Question What They Don’t Know

How many times have you been in school home or even work and the supervisor or the authority figure asks a questions that no one knows the answer to and everyone, that was asked, gives them the twist-headed dog look? Then we immediately see that from that original question, hundreds more are asked. Why? Because the answer was not readily available and it caused those that didn’t have the answer to try to figure out where to retrieve it. When presenting the gospel of Jesus Christ, I find that, people will revert back to one of three things:

  1. What they think they know
  2. What they have heard, read or seen
  3. What they have learned or been taught

Breaking down these walls will prove challenging but NOT impossible. Let’s talk about ways to deal with these three things.

What they think they know

This is the easiest objection to debunk because most people have no authority or basis for this decision. They usually cite “well, I think” or they could say “I fell like..” or even “In my opinion..”. Have you ever heard of these phrases before? What they are really saying is “I think that I know better and I value my own thoughts or words more than a book.” I remember once I was speaking to an atheist and he told me that he didn’t believe in God. I asked him “why not”. He said that he didn’t THINK that a god that was all powerful would allow all these bad things to happen. The word that I want you to focus on is THINK! When people cite the word think, they base their decisions on logic and reasonable understanding. You can preach God’s word to them until you get tired but until it penetrates their heart, it will not be effective. You have to break up the fallow ground, before the seed takes root.

Here is a technique to use:

I see that you have a sharp mind and think logically with intellect. I will not even try to insult your intelligence but may I ask you a few questions. “Do you have free will to do what you want? Do others have free will to do what they want as well? If we all have free will, then how is it God’s fault that we have a high crime rate or that bad things happen? It’s the issue of humanity. God has allowed mankind to have free will since creation. We see this in Genesis 1:27-30 “And God said, Let us make man in our image, after our likeness: and let them have dominion over the fish of the sea, and over the fowl of the air, and over the cattle, and over all the earth, and over every creeping thing that creepeth upon the earth. So God created man in his own image, in the image of God created he him; male and female created he them. And God blessed them, and God said unto them, Be fruitful, and multiply, and replenish the earth, and subdue it:and have dominion over the fish of the sea, and over the fowl of the air, and over every living thing that moveth upon the earth. And God said, Behold, I have given you every herb bearing seed, which is upon the face of all the earth, and every tree, in the which is the fruit of a tree yielding seed; to you it shall be for meat. And to every beast of the earth, and to every fowl of the air, and to every thing that creepeth upon the earth, wherein there is life, I have given every green herb for meat:and it was so. This is a technique for dealing with that objection.

What they have heard, read or seen

This is a little more difficult to overcome because there are tangible bits of evidence to support what they have claimed. You now have to prove that their source is either corrupt or does not have the complete truth in them. They will usually say things like: “Well, I read that…” or “This person says that…” or “Why does this source say something different from what you’re saying?” What this person is really is that “I care enough to have research to back-up my statements that I’m claiming.” Approaching this person with your personal feelings, convictions or beliefs will NOT appeal to this person without some sort of concrete substance. You need to establish your source, the bible, as a credible source of information in their eye before they will accept it’s contents. 

Here is a technique to use:

I see that source accuracy is very important to you. If I can prove that my source is 100% accurate, would you be willing to listen to a 5 minute presentation? In this statement, I have taken then off of the defensive and placed them in a position to listen to God’s word. I usually have three historical facts that align with the bible. I suggest that you do your own research in this area. I would show a couple of facts just to gain their confidence in the bible and then present the gospel. A person will never place faith in God unless they have confidence in His Word. 

What they have learned or been taught

This is the most difficult person to reach because now, you will have to not only prove they have learned error but you must present the truth in such a way that makes them discern that they have been taught error. If I tell a person they have learned error but never show them truth in a way that would make them believe it for themselves, then they will put up their shield and prepare to defend themselves. When confronted this type of person will simply say “I learned something different”. The absolute worse thing that you can do is try to change their mind by preaching at them. They know doctrine too and are probably pretty strong in their faith as well. In the past, I have used their knowledge of what they learned to question what they know. This will show how strong their faith in what they learned or have been taught really is. 

Here is a technique to use:

I’m impressed with vast amount of knowledge in this area. It really looks like you know and believe what you’re talking about. I can both appreciate and respect that. I grew up with no bible knowledge so I’m not really strong in a lot of areas but I will say that I’m so happy that Jesus saves. I was taught that I had to work in order to get to heaven but Jesus taught that He did all the work and we just need to accept it. Have you accepted His finished work? This will open the door to witness and throw the subject of denomination out the door and focus on Jesus. 

In this series, we will learn more techniques on how to deal with those that have objections and questions. We will address the subject of understanding in tomorrow’s devotional. Join us again as we address real life issues wit biblical answers on Worship With Willie. 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

