Reaching The Lost With The Gospel (Part 2)

reachingthelost

Reaching The Lost With The Gospel (Part 2)

Proverbs 11:30 

“The fruit of the righteous is a tree of life; and he that winneth souls is wise.”

This week, we will celebrate and discuss soul-winning or what some call personal evangelism. The concept is to share the message of Jesus Christ with them in a personal and private setting outside of the house of God. This week I will share some tenants to help you become a better soul winner and/or personal evangelist. 

Disclaimer: The notes, tips and techniques are NOT guaranteed to work unless the soul-winner: puts forth effort. Additionally, one connect logically expect to win something or win someone that they haven’t trained to win. In order to win, you must first practice to win, which may include not winning multiple times. Hang in there and you will receive a victory if you learn, continue to go and trust in God’s power.

This entire week, I will give a clinic on how to reach people with the gospel of the Lord Jesus Christ. There are 5 things that we need to remember when we witness to others. Since I used to work in sales, I will use the sales model to explain. 

  1. Introduction
  2. Needs Analysis
  3. Give & Take Away 
  4. Closing Or Invitation
  5. Follow-Up & Assurance Or Salutation & Prayer

I will cover each of these ideas each day this week  and give a practical exercise of how to address objections that come up from the person asking questions. 

II. Needs Analysis

This portion of the process is the most misunderstood and misused with new Christians. Here are a few things to remember:

  1. Identify Need – During the introduction, you should have learned a few things about the person’s background and personal interests. Now you can use that as a springboard to open up a spiritual conversation about their church background. I usually ask “What is your church background?” Once I discover this bit of information I then know how to proceed forward with the gospel presentation. 
    • Why is this important? If the person has a religious background contrary to scripture, then I will spend more time overcoming objections. If they have no religious background then I can devote my time to pure gospel. 
  2. Design Approach – This step kinda goes with the first step more than any other step. Once I have discovered the need, I will want to design a method of approach. For instance, if I have a person that believes that they can lose their salvation if they sin, I will want to spend a lot of time on eternal security more than I would on the sin nature of man. I want to custom taylor my presentation to the person. 
    • I remember I had a lady, in my family, that was abused and felt as if no one loved or cared for her. So I spent a great deal of time telling her verses of scripture about God’s love. The reason why is because she had a difficult time trusting authority since she had been taken advantage of in her past. Showing her that God wouldn’t hurt her gave her comfort in hearing about Him. 
  3. Deliver Information – The first step has to do with me asking the person to explain their religious background. The second step has me listening to the person and preparing my first statements in response to their church background. Now this step allows me to deliver my response that I have spent meditating on while they were talking. 
    • I normally begin my witnessing talking about sin in Romans 3:10 & 11 but one day I ran into a person that had a real issue understanding where sin came from. He knew that he was a sinner but didn’t understand why. So I began in Romans 5:12 “Wherefore, as by one man sin entered into the world, and death by sin; and so death passed upon all men, for that all have sinned:” I couldn’t sell him on being a sinner until he understood why he was a sinner and that it was his nature. Once I did this, then he knew that there was no hope for him and that he was guilty before God. A carefully planned delivery is just as important as a carefully planned design. The bible says “A word fitly spoken is like apples of gold in pictures of silver.” Proverbs 25:11 KJV.
  4. Assess Progress – While i am giving the information to the person, I usually ask questions like “Did you understand that last statement?” or “How do you think that applies to you?” Basically, as I giving them information, I am evaluating if they are comprehending it. I remember once I was giving a young man the gospel in a way that I was taught to give it, by a pastor friend of mine, however this man didn’t understand the words that I said. He was very illiterate and had a very small vocabulary. So I took a step back and went back to step number one and asked his educational background. I learned that he left school in the 7th grade. So I began to taylor my presentation to a level of understanding so he could clearly understand. This is consistent with Apostle Paul’s teachings in I Corinthians 9:22 “To the weak became I as weak, that I might gain the weak: I am made all things to all men, that I might by all means save some.” If I present the gospel very eloquently and properly, as taught by academia, but the illiterate man down the street can’t understand my large words, then who does it help? This is an ongoing process and this could mean the difference of you winning someone for Christ or them walking away from Christ because of you. 
  5. Evaluate Progress – This is something that I do to make sure that the person understands. Once I have presented a particular section I will verify that they understand that section by asking a few questions similar to these: 
    • “Now the bible says that everyone has missed the mark and fell short of God’s perfection. I’m willing to admit that I have fallen short of that mark, are you willing to be honest and admit that as well?”
    • “The bible tells us that we all have a sin nature that we can do nothing about, in our own strength. I’m willing to admit that I have a sin nature that I can’t change, are you willing to be honest and admit that as well?”

When we conduct a proper needs analysis we need to remember a few things:

A. God Gives The Answer – All too often we will desire to have the answer for the questions asked but we have to remember that ONLY God gives us the answer through His Spirit Of Truth. If you find yourself not having the answers when you witness to people it’s because:

  • God doesn’t want you to come back with an answer
  • You haven’t studied the bible enough to know the answers to their questions 
  • You are trying to answer their questions in the flesh and without God’s Word
  • You have unconfessed sin. This repels the Holy Spirit’s power to speak to you

B. Not Every Question Has A Clear Answer – Sometimes people will ask questions that don’t have clear answers. Or they may be asking you questions to distract you from reading them while they are reading you. 

C. Distractions Mean That You Are Getting Close To The Treasure – In my experience, I have found that a lot of people throw out distractions because you are nearing their backyard. Just like submarines or any other vessels deploy countermeasures to keep the enemy attack away, they will use distractions to throw you off. In the military we are taught to ignore the distractions and remain on course. Acknowledge the distracting question but quickly resume course back to the cross. A person will ask you a question like this “Are you telling me about the love of a God that allows babies to be killed and women and children murdered and abused?” A good way to address this, without losing the person, is to use a statement like this “I realize that love, justice and equality is very important to you. That’s why Jesus came to make all those wrongs right. If you give me a few minutes, I would be happy to explain how after these few verses. Can you hold on to that question until then?”

The distraction was addressed in a positive manner leaving the person feeling as if they will receive an answer. Additionally, they were asked if they could wait until the previous statement was completed. I find that if you ask people to wait, they will usually wait if asked nicely. I mean there will always be jerks but generally people will wait. 

D. Practice Real Time Objectives – You will have difficulty succeeding in addressing obstacles if you never practice overcoming them. Have a friend or someone practice giving you sharp objections and rehearse how to overcome them. 

People often say “Practice makes perfect”. This is simply NOT true. What happens if you practice something wrong? They you’ve just made a perfectly permanent mistake set in stone. Now it will take a great deal of effort to “unlearn this mistake” and retrain yourself the right way. Having a proper needs analysis allows you to anticipate the next question and plan your next statement in real time while remaining open to the voice of the Holy Spirit. After all, God is the one that can give the answers and do the saving. We need to remember that we are HIS vessels to use. In tomorrow’s devotional we will speak about the importance of giving and taking away to establish need. Join us again as we address real life issues with biblical answers on Worship With Willie. 

Leave a Reply

