The Road To Recovery (Part 2)

recovery-photo

The Road To Recovery (Part 2)

Philippians 1:6 

When we think about recovery we think about people in a hospital bed or an addict kicking a habit in some rehab center in a cell all alone. However, the actual definition of recovery is quite different.  

Recovery – a return to a normal state of health, mind, or strength; the action or process of regaining possession or control of something stolen or lost.

So, by this definition we are reminded that recovery is something that we strive for and that it doesn’t happen immediately. Here are a few things to remember when it comes to recovery:

C. There Has To Be A Disciplined Mind To Stay The Course

Webster’s dictionary defines discipline as: the practice of training people to obey rules or a code of behavior, using punishment to correct disobedience. Notice that the definition stated the practice of training to obey the rules or a code of behavior. In our lives we absolutely require discipline. 

In the military, the subject of discipline is something that is absolutely vital to mission success or failure. Why? If a person cannot follow directions or obey orders then there are major issues. 

  1. Discipline Has To Be Learned – A person has to know what the standard is and also know what is not acceptable. Once this is learned, then an individual can be trained to follow a prescribed behavior.

I remember when I went to Marine Corps bootcamp many years ago and the culture shock that it was to me. Everyone seemed so mean and rude and always yelled at me. Initially, I was out of my element and didn’t know what the standard was that I was expected to uphold. However, after a few days, I quickly learned my place and what was expected of me. I later learned that the yelling and rudeness wasn’t mad to make me feel unexpected but to prepare my mind for following the rules. Once, I began to submit to the rules and “drink the cool-aide” things became so much easier and the punishment all but disappeared for me. It all started with me learning to prepare my mind to work in a specific way.

Unless you prepare your mind to respond in a specific way, it will revert back to what it knows the best. How do we make it so our mind doesn’t go into a panic state?

A. Know the standard – “In order to shine, I must do this every time” (this means that there is a level at which one should strive for consistently. Your goal.)

B. Know the sub-standard – “I can’t see the clouds, if my face is buried in the ground” (this means that there is a level that you need to stay away from at all costs. If you’re constantly seeing the bad in the situations of life, then hearing someone tell you how to see the clouds will not satisfy you unless it’s foggy outside. A negative person won’t see the clouds unless the clouds come down to their level. This is sub-standard behavior. 

C. Know the expectation – “I will NEVER fit in, if I NEVER plan to win” (The goal is to consistently walk in a sinless way before the Lord but since we can’t we need to have our baseline behavior. This is our routine, it needs to fit in near the standard but far away from the substandard. This is a set of behaviors that you can comfortably and consistently do every single day. 

If I know that it will be impossible for me to read 20 chapters a day, then I should never plan to do that because I will fail and become sub-standard. I should have that as a goal and strive to reach it while living in my expectation of reading 5-10 chapters a day. 

D. Know that failure or success is your choice and that you ultimately are responsible for whatever one you choose to display

Discipline is a very tough subject to explain but it is much more difficult to live. When we discipline our minds, we make our lives much easier. An undisciplined mind is like a forest fire; it will consume until there is nothing left and the end of it only leaves waste and destruction. Today, I challenge you all to make a list of standards that you want to reach this year, a list of substandard that you want to avoid and a list of reasonable expectations that you want to live consistently each day. Once you have completed this list, begin taking steps to live in the expectation and work towards the standard. In tomorrows devotional we will cover another step to recovery. Join us again as we address real life issues with biblical answers on Worship With Willie. 

Leave a Reply

