The Road To Recovery (Part 1)

recovery-photo

The Road To Recovery (Part 1)

Philippians 1:6 

When we think about recovery we think about people in a hospital bed or an addict kicking a habit in some rehab center in a cell all alone. However, the actual definition of recovery is quite different.  

Recovery – a return to a normal state of health, mind, or strength; the action or process of regaining possession or control of something stolen or lost.

So, by this definition we are reminded that recovery is something that we strive for and that it doesn’t happen immediately. Here are a few things to remember when it comes to recovery:

A. There Has To Be A Desire For Recovery – The very basis for recovery comes from the personal desire to go back to the state before the destruction has occurred. 

Too often people will want to go into recovery but what they forget is that recovery isn’t something that finds them but something that they need to seek. When we think about all the people that came to Jesus for healing, we see that they all came to Jesus on purpose. They all had a desire to be healed from their infirmities. Because they had a desire to be changed, they put forth an effort to get help. Only the person seeking recovery, must come forth and diligently seek it. 

B. There Has To Be A Determination To See It Through – All too often we will seek to be healed but when the times get tough, most people tap out. I remember when our church had a caffeine fast for a week. When we did, I was so eager to participate. The first day seemed exciting and easy. The second day is when the pain and the struggle started. The headaches and loss of concentration. I had began to think “Is this really worth it”, unfortunately, I bowed out and had to get a drink of coffee. When I drank my coffee, it didn’t immediately improve my condition. Now I felt two times worse. I was detoxing from the caffeine and I had just went back on my addiction. Do you know what I did? I drank more caffeine, thinking that if I introduced more of the drug into my system that I would end the pain and feel “normal”. I actually felt the same and didn’t have anything to show for my breaking the fast except failure. 

I lacked determination to do what I knew was right. In the lives of Christians, we will seek to do the right thing but when the pain comes we sometimes cave in. This makes us feel like “What’s the point in continuing to try?”, I already messed up I might as well enjoy it now and start over tomorrow. However, tomorrow never comes and today always plays over and over again. What day are you on?

This week, we will focus on recovery and the different phases of recovery. Recovery does not come overnight nor does it come quickly. Sometimes the incident can take a very short period of time but the recovery can take decades. One must be patient and continue to push forward. In tomorrow’s devotionals we will begin to identify the states of recovery and maybe discover what stage you’re in right now. Join us again as we address real life issues with biblical answers on Worship With WIllie. 

Leave a Reply

