How Can I Reach My City With The Gospel? (Part 1)

Screen Shot 2016-02-01 at 2.04.50 PM.png

How Can I Reach My City With The Gospel? (Part 1)

Mark 16:15-20

“And he said unto them, Go ye into all the world, and preach the gospel to every creature. He that believeth and is baptized shall be saved; but he that believeth not shall be damned. And these signs shall follow them that believe; In my name shall they cast out devils; they shall speak with new tongues; They shall take up serpents; and if they drink any deadly thing, it shall not hurt them; they shall lay hands on the sick, and they shall recover. So then after the Lord had spoken unto them, he was received up into heaven, and sat on the right hand of God. And they went forth, and preached every where, the Lord working with them, and confirming the word with signs following. Amen.”

Reaching people in today’s modern world seems like an enormous task. People today have more information at their fingertips, through technology, now more than ever. The people can communicate with their families that are hundreds and even thousands of miles away with the simple push of a button. They are reminded that human engineering and ingenuity has prevailed. The people take pride in the accomplishments of there own hands. However, there is one thing missing: Peace.

Humanity scurries around in human learning and reasoning much like a rabbit in the darkness. They think that they know what’s best but they know not that they are borrowing time from The Master. They avoid the Light of the Gospel message because of it’s conviction and condemnation. They reject the gospel just like babies reject sour milk. So, how do we reach people that are so fixed on rejecting what’s good for them? How Can I reach My City With The Gospel?

We must first see why people reject the gospel of The Lord Jesus Christ: Here is a fellow Christian’s top reasons why people reject God and The Lord Jesus Christ. Quotes and scripture by Fruitful Musings:

I. UNBELIEF
Obviously this is one of the most popular reasons. The Bible is clear that many will choose to reject Christ; especially those who claim they know him but clearly live for themselves. I find that probably 50% of the people I talk to simply don’t believe the Bible, that Jesus Christ is God’s son, and that He is the Only way to Heaven. They have created their own idols whether by their own hand or mental image. They are willingly unwilling to change their mind and are close-minded beyond belief. They believe anything as long as it does not involve Jesus Christ or Christianity. Although their unbelief does not negate reality, it will cloud the truth from their hearts forever. Jesus dealt with this in his time so we shouldn’t really be surprised that 2,000 years later people still won’t believe the Gospel.

 

II. APATHY
More shocking than the first reason, this one runs rampant everywhere, especially college students and academia. I would say that at least 50% of the people who don’t believe simply don’t care. Do you know how frustrating and sad that is? Christian, these people simply don’t care if they go to Hell! HELL!! The scariest thing is those that do believe and are apathetic anyway. Can you imagine believing the truth of the Bible and Jesus Christ, but not caring about it at all? I guess that’s almost comparable to “Christians” who don’t care about the Lost evidenced by their lack of evangelism efforts. They don’t care about God, Christ, Morals, Ethics, anything. I mean they care about nothing but themselves. Apathy is rooted in selfishness. To me the saddest reason to reject Christ and go to Hell is apathy. To be so uncaring and unconcerned about the afterlife and about God’s Punishment and Wrath is ashame. I don’t understand it nor do I accept it. I hate it! The conversations I struggle with the most are those with people who are extremely apathetic. They are so carefree and caught up in their own selfish world that they have no thought of anything. You certainly aren’t going to reach these people with the Grace of God and benefits of salvation. And especially not with God’s Judgment. They don’t understand the importance of fearing God and His coming Judgment. These are the conversations where all you can do is present the Gospel and Warn them, and then walk away in order to avoid giving in to the flesh.

 

III. DECEPTION
I believe this is the biggest tool of the Father of Lies. Deceiving the lost to believe they are saved, and then deceiving the saved to live like the lost. 90-95% of people I talk to claim to be a “christian”. And this is the Bible Belt folks. The toughest place to witness period is here in the Bible Belt because people know the story, have heard it all before, and claim to be a child of God already! Do you know how nearly impossible it is to simply preach the Gospel to a professing Christian? They are arrogant and prideful. And are blown away in offense that you would have the gall to even question their salvation or preach to them. Regardless of their method or means of salvation, they still believe that no matter how they live they are in that number and God is going to forgive them. But if you are truly saved by God, you know as well as I do what Jesus said in Matthew 7:13&14

Mat 7:13 & 14 “Enter ye in at the strait gate:for wide is the gate, and broad is the way, that leadeth to destruction, and many there be which go in thereat: Because strait is the gate, and narrow is the way, which leadeth unto life, and few there be that find it.”

As you see, there are reasons why people willingly reject the gospel. So the question remains: How do I become an effective witness to the people of my city? I believe that there are three ways to reach the lost in your city with the gospel of Jesus Christ. These three ways are in addition to: Prayer, Soul-Winning and a Testimony beyond reproach. 

All people, deep down inside, have a spirit that longs to be excepted by “A Higher Power”, this is why they either attend church, try to be religious and seek pleasure from the things of this world. However, the world at large wants to seek the pleasures of this world because the cost of Jesus is to high. The average lost person knows that if they come to Jesus, they fear the Lord will make them give up their sins which in their minds is fun. 

I will not tell you that this will work 100% but I believe that these three tips will help you to get your foot into the door of their hearts for a moment of time while God works. Remember, you have three jobs when it comes to the gospel message:

A. Prepare – We should prepare our hearts and our minds way before we should even step out of our houses. Leaving our Christ centered home and going into a home of iniquity and despair could oppress us emotionally and mentally. Going into a house where their language is self-pleasure and their love is self-gratitude isn’t the best environment for a Christian. Jesus set the example for us to do so however we need the armour of God as a measure of protection. How much time should I prepare? I personally use the rule of double! If I am training for a 3 mile run, I need to run six miles so that my endurance is up. If I plan on visiting for 2 hours, I usually try to spend 4 hours with God in the day(s) before I visit. This time is in addition to my personal devotional time. I can’t give them something from God that I don’t have myself. What about you?

B. Present – We should present the gospel to the lost world in a way that is on their level and a way that they understand. If I have a bible college education and present the gospel to a man or woman that only has a first grade education level using terms that they don’t know, would that person really understand me? That’s like expecting a dog to bark to a cat and having the cat translate that bark back to you. Listen to what Apostle Paul told us in I Corinthians 9:22-23 “To the weak became I as weak, that I might gain the weak:I am made all things to all men, that I might by all means save some. And this I do for the gospel’s sake, that I might be partaker thereof with you.” I don’t think that Paul means that we need to learn slang and profanities in order to fit in. That’s unwise and foolish! However, if I plan on driving to a less desirable part of town, I should probably learn the layout and popular attractions and the history. This opens the door of communication and builds rapport. Ask yourself this question: Why would this person want to listen to me talk about Jesus over someone else? Why am I special? What can I give them, from God, that no one else can? You are there for a reason, to present, do it the best that you can. 

C. Pray – This is a tough one for most people to handle. Do you know that God wants us to pray for the unsaved? I Timothy 2:4 “Who will have all men to be saved, and to come unto the knowledge of the truth.” Also, read this verse, Luke 10:2 “Therefore said he unto them, The harvest truly is great, but the labourers are few:pray ye therefore the Lord of the harvest, that he would send forth labourers into his harvest.” Now if God wants all people saved and He wants us to pray for laborers, shouldn’t we pray also for those that the laborers are reaching? Too often we pray once or twice for the lost souls but we fail miserably in presenting them before God. How would our world be changed if we prayed for the lost like we would our own needs. You can’t pray for people that you don’t know or when you don’t remember their names. Do you have a prayer journal? Do you even write their names down? When was the last time that you took time to devote to praying for JUST the lost? Lord help us to honor Him in our lives. 

We are called to be representatives of The Kingdom of Heaven. We already have robes of righteousness awaiting us and our mansions are already completed and empty waiting us. Why not put in a hard life’s work before we take our rest at home. In tomorrow’s devotional we will begin to share the first of the practical tips to be an effective witness so that you can reach your city with the Gospel of Jesus Christ. Join us again as we address real life issues with biblical answers on Worship With Willie. 

Leave a Reply

