Love, What Is It? (Part 4)

what-is-love

Love. What is it? (Part 4)

Song Of Solomon 2:1-17

Usually when a person says I love you to another, it can mean anything from “I like you” to “I enjoy your company”. It is not so much the word as the meaning behind the word. In the bible, we read of many occasions that the word love is used but all too often we don’t really understand what it means. The fact of the matter is that we use this word so loosely today that we have lost the true meaning of love. Join us as we answer the question: Love, What is it?

I am not a Greek scholar nor do I profess to be one of the English language either, but I will share some words from the Greek to better illuminate this subject.

In our text today we see that the bible is showing us a different type of love. In the ancient Greek culture a multitude of words were used to describe feelings, thoughts and emotions. The area of love has it’s own Greek vocabulary and is phonetically full of expression. The text shows the youthful and playful love between a young man and a young woman. This flirty type of expression between King Solomon and his young lover leads us to the next Greek word for love.

LUDUS Love (Part 2)

It’s called: LUDUS Love – This type of love is considered a playful love, which is referred to as affection. It is commonly seen when in the early stages of a relationship.

What does this word really mean? I believe that we see it mentioned here in this passage “The voice of my beloved! behold, he cometh leaping upon the mountains, skipping upon the hills. My beloved is like a roe or a young hart: behold, he standeth behind our wall, he looketh forth at the windows, shewing himself through the lattice. My beloved spake, and said unto me, Rise up, my love, my fair one, and come away. For, lo, the winter is past, the rain is over and gone; The flowers appear on the earth; the time of the singing of birds is come, and the voice of the turtle is heard in our land; The fig tree putteth forth her green figs, and the vines with the tender grape give a good smell. Arise, my love, my fair one, and come away.” Song Of Solomon 2:8-13 KJV. Without turning this devotional into a romance novel or a self help book, I want to explain why some people have chemistry while others don’t.

  1. LUDUS Love Captivates

As we look at the first part of this chapter, we see that there is a definite motivation for the young man to come to the young female. The bible literally tells us that his voice almost puts her under a love spell. She sees his approach as graceful as a young dear in his desire to come to her. Apparently, he is so happy to see her that he seems to have a spring in his step. His young lady, as leaping upon mountains and skipping on hills, interprets his springing steps. These two are totally captivated by each other that they see their partner larger than life and their only focal point. Why?

  1. LUDUS Love Confides & Seeks Comfort

(For Men) – We notice that Solomon did something that many people probably never seen before in chapter 1. Let’s read what he said Song Of Solomon 1:5-6 “I am black, but comely, O ye daughters of Jerusalem, as the tents of Kedar, as the curtains of Solomon. Look not upon me, because I am black, because the sun hath looked upon me: my mother’s children were angry with me; they made me the keeper of the vineyards; but mine own vineyard have I not kept”. Solomon had a troubled past and endured harsh treatment from his family. I believe that Solomon wanted someone to confide in with his background. I believe that Solomon wanted a special person to look beyond his appearance and see his lonely loathing soul. We also see that he wanted to have someone to communicate the contents of his heart. I believe that he wanted someone that would love him, hear his story and comfort him the way that he desired.

As men, we need to be aware of our manly wall. We spend time building up this giant wall to protect our hearts and show this wall as a measure of masculinity. The walls will keep the outsiders outdoors but it cuts you off from the rest of humanity as well. A woman desires an emotional vulnerability to her man. This simple act of sharing something personal builds an interest because it states, “You trust me enough to tell me your secrets”.

Every man desires someone that they can trust with their secrets and their heart. This woman will treasure, nourish, encourage and strengthen her man’s heart. A man wants nothing more than to have a connection with someone that acknowledges him as king and can comfort him like mother without treating him like a child. When a woman begins to apply these simple principles she will see the heart of her man open and remain open.

 

  1. LUDUS Love Comforting & Seeks Companionship

(For Women) – We notice that Solomon’s young lady made a profound statement in chapter 2 and all throughout Song of Solomon. Let’s read what she said Song of Solomon 2:7 “I charge you, O ye daughters of Jerusalem, by the roes, and by the hinds of the field, that ye stir not up, nor awake my love, till he please”. Solomon’s woman took great pleasure in seeking to comfort Solomon. She even went so far as to tell her girl friends not to bother her until her man, assumingly husband, had awaked from his sleep. Later in our text we see that she goes to great lengths to ensure that her man is in a comfortable place. It was important for her to make him feel like a king and ensure that he had what he needed. One could say that it was her desire to make him happy and to serve him.

Most women have a natural desire to serve their men with gladness and joy. This is what gives them fulfillment, however their tanks do run dry from time to time. This is where the man can recharge their tanks by opening up their hearts and sharing how their woman makes them feel. This emotional connection is like throwing a match in a tank of highly flammable fuel. That one tiny spark is enough to let her know that she isn’t alone and that you aren’t taking her for granted. To her this affirms that you love her more than what she does for you.

  1. LUDUS Love Communicates & Connects

We see a continuous dialog between Solomon and his young lady. Communication is a huge part of the LUDUS love recipe. Communication is just more than verbalizing information to another. Communication conveys thought, desire, expresses emotion and highlights personality and character of the communicator. The communication between them seems to be a natural, organic and effortless act as they convey thought. Have you ever wanted to have a conversation with someone and they seemed to be more interested in everything else except you? This usually means that they aren’t interested in you or they have no desire to hear the content of your message. I believe a lot of that has to do with the tone that these two lovers used. For example “I sleep, but my heart waketh: it is the voice of my beloved that knocketh, saying, Open to me, my sister, my love, my dove, my undefiled: for my head is filled with dew, and my locks with the drops of the night. I have put off my coat; how shall I put it on? I have washed my feet; how shall I defile them.” Song Of Solomon 5:1-3

I believe that her tone of voice and attitude had a great deal to do with him being so attracted to her. A person with an attitude would say, “Why are you waking me up? I just got into bed and it’s raining outside and you want me to do what”. I realize that this is a far stretch but the heart of a man seeks a kind and gentle nature from his mate. Kind and gentle communication will let others know that you are safe to approach. I once had a friend that was a very good friend of mine and she would give you the shoes off of her feet if you were in need. However, she had this stern look on her face that made others not want to approach her. They said that she looked like she was having a bad day and didn’t want to be approached by anyone. When in actuality, she was crying on the inside because she wanted people to approach her and because of her appearance they didn’t. She finally attended a self-help conference that focused on how to be noticed without making people notice you. The key point to the whole conference was that she needed to make more of an effort to attract people to her instead of waiting for them to come to her. She learned how to smile with her voice, she learned how to use non-verbal communication and she learned the benefit of small talk. Now people look past her exterior because they see her natural bubbly personality. Her friends say that she is a real joy to be around and her personality is irresistible.

Communication isn’t what is said but what is conveyed through tone of voice, body language and kind words used. When we display these qualities we become an irresistible person that one can’t remove from their minds. If the law of kindness and compassion isn’t in your heart, then it will not come out of your mouth. LUDUS love is attracted to kindness and thoughtfulness. The ones that display kindness and thoughtfulness usually have a multitude of friends. The ones that haven’t mastered this skill have very few real friends and lack a real flirty connection to their loved ones. Kind communication is the secret ingredient to chemistry. How is your LUDUS love? Does your partner get excited to see you? Are you excited to see your partner? How often do you share mushy notes with each other? How often do you fight? Do you have a special tingle when you see your partner or is it more of a heavy dreadful feeling? There is a saying “The couple that prays together, stays together” but I say “the couple that flirts, works”. Flirty and playful behavior is normal in a relationship and reestablishes the bond between the two. In tomorrows devotional we will speak about the most destructive type of love that people battle. Join us again as we address real life issues with biblical answers on Worship With Willie.

Leave a Reply

